Enlightenment at Luxe

Luxe in Burnaby

Affordability may have been lost long ago, but the disappearance of sanity in the Vancouver real estate market is a relatively new phenomenon. (Well, not that new if you remember 1981. I can’t because I was a zygote but that doesn’t mean the year didn’t happen.)

Giving us more tease than a good burlesque show, this ad for the Luxe condos in Burnaby titillates us with a hint of the future. “See the light soon” reads the tagline in one of the best double-entendres in Vancouver condo marketing in recent years.

Are they talking about a new development or the coming realization that the RE house of cards is about to come crashing down?

Both, and that’s what makes this brilliant.

Humorist James Thurber once wrote, “There are two kinds of light: the glow that illumines, and the glare that obscures.”

What kind of light is shining on Vancouver real estate, you ask?

In time, we will know.

10 Responses to “Enlightenment at Luxe”

  1. Vancouver condos Says:

    I like this ad. Despite your irony (as there is of course no double-entendre in the tag line), this new development will add a lot of great condominiums to the existing Vancouver condos. Trust me, I know they ARE sought after.

  2. dingus Says:

    Thurber. Nice. This town could use more curmudgeonliness.

    I think this Thurber quote is a propos: “You can fool too many of the people too much of the time.” Sadly so.

  3. Otto Says:

    Vancouver condos:

    After I clicked on your link it shed some light (keeping with the theme) on why you chose not see the double-entendre in the ad’s tagline.

    And yes, I’ll trust you, just like I’ll trust the CMHC to “help Canadians access a wide choice of quality, affordable homes” and “assist Canadians who cannot afford housing”

    Strike that last point, they’ve assisted Canadians a little too well.

  4. Otto Says:

    And since we’re quoting the erudite:

    “I expect modest sales gains throughout the year, with what I believe are sustainable levels of activity. 2007 promises to be the fourth best year on record.”

    -David Lereah, former chief economist for the National Association of Realtors (NAR), February 1, 2007

  5. Jimmy Says:

    I trust you, Vancouver Condos. Where do I sign?

  6. Disbelief Says:

    Grabbed this quote from south of the border NAR…. Call it a little foreshadow

    # Rapid price gains are unsustainable, and will always overcorrect before settling back to normal rates of appreciation.

    # Those believing that price gains would go on forever are the ones who were likeliest to get hurt — speculators and homebuyers who bought beyond their true means.

  7. The Aesthetic Poetic Says:

    Vancouver Condos:

    “Trust me, I know they ARE sought after.”

    I like this sentence. Especially your emphasis on the word “are”. Nice use of caps, you should probably get into real estate marketing, the Vancouver condo scene could use more caps, and less superlative adjectives.

    instead of “exceptional luxury”

    you could write “REALLY NICE”.

    go for it dude.

  8. enlightenment Says:

    Diane: “Carol Anne – listen to me. Do NOT go into the light. Stop where you are. Turn away from it. Don’t even look at it.”

    Sage advice.

  9. Vancouver condos Says:

    Thanks for the irony, guys, believe it or not: I do like it. And I can also understand that you are sceptical. I don’t always laugh at someone else’s mistakes, but this time I just hope that you are wrong. Or perhaps I am an uncurable optimist.
    Poetic, it seems that you do know something about marketing. So you should probably also know how ads work. And the language of advertisement slogans is a whole unique world. Yes, sometimes a house is just “really nice” but we still believe someone would find it “exceptionally luxurious”.
    (oops, I almost capitalized a word again…)
    Thanks for the comments, guys.

  10. alice Says:

    My favourite real estate wording error was “excessive use of crown mouldings” when I’m sure they actually meant “extensive”. And now another big tower. Sigh. I work just down the road from where this Luxe thing will be eating into more of our meagre view of the mountains. Those condos built at Holdom Station do have a nice feature – they occasionally reflect sunlight into a window here that never got it before. But what is that train wreck sculpture all about?

Leave a Reply

